top of page
Search
  • alle6041

Reading Blog #3

It seems like net.art paved the way for interactive web art. When I got my first iPod Touch, I think I was in middle school and I got a bunch of “Choose Your Own Adventure” apps. to play I remember when I was in elementary school and we had a computer class and everyone would share links to their favorite websites and write them down on sticky notes so they could remember exactly what to type in the search bar. Some of the most popular games we shared and played growing up were extremely simple “click to proceed” games. The idea of choice was so exciting, even though you could always just refresh the page to start again. The act of clicking links to take you from page to page was exciting. That’s why I think net.art spread the way it did. People enjoyed the uncertainty of what page would pop up. One part of the article I though was interesting was that one site would take you to a different website where you would get hacked. I wonder how the news of this website spread because if someone came to me and said “hey you should visit this really cool website, as soon as you type the URL in and click enter your computer gets hacked” I probably wouldn’t be eager to search up the website so I wonder if the visits to the site were all accidental. I also think it’s cool that today, interactive exhibits are parts of museums and that museums can also be in an online format.



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page